Chapter 6: Underway

Ted Leonhardt
7 min readJun 14, 2021
Friends making their way in spite of the challenge

Change is underway.

Brie and Tommy were sitting on the big bench in Miss Ann’s pilothouse as Arial skillfully guided them through the maze of small boats, past the breakwater and into the Strait.

Gray skies reflecting into large glassy rollers. Sea and sky joined in Paynes Gray monotone. Bright enough that squinting was required — yet the monotone of water and air made seeing where sky met sea impossible.

They were quiet. Feeling Miss Ann rise and fall with the swells as Arial set an easterly course. They were headed to Gig Harbor to meet with their former colleagues from Overture.

With the big diesels set to cruising speed, the trip would take all day. Time to relax. Time to consider.

Awareness

Tommy spoke.

“I’ve been watching the decline for years.

“It must have been 2005 or so when I felt the first glimmerings of awareness. And I was late to the party even then.

“Once I engaged, I realized that things were getting really out of balance. And worse, I also realized that my career had contributed to the problem.

“And, I began to look for signs that somehow we’d wake up and work actively to turn things around.

--

--

Ted Leonhardt

Recently I've been writing about growing up as a fostered, adopted child. Professionally I'm an advisor to creative professionals. http://www.tedleonhardt.com